PPA Celebrates Industry Achievements

Published: January 24, 2023

Grand Imaging Award Winner

PPA held the Grand Imaging Awards last night at Imaging USA, the largest annual conference and expo for professional photographers. The 2023 Grand Imaging Award went to Ben Shirk, M.Photog.M.Artist.Cr., for his image, “Theft of Innocence,” in the Illustrative and Commercial category. Shirk’s photograph was selected from over 5,000 entries by a jury of 76 professional photographers. The Grand Imaging Awards were streamed live on YouTube. If you missed the ceremony, you can watch it here.   

The Grand Imaging Award encourages photographers to improve their craft and creative process by entering and receiving feedback through competition. This year, Shirk’s image was deemed by jurors to be the very best of images to be included in the prestigious Imaging Excellence Collection. This selection of photographs is published yearly by Marathon Press as a hardcover book.

Shirk was selected as the winner from a pool of 114 category finalist images. All of this year’s finalist images can be viewed here


International Photographic Competition Medalists

PPA also recognized the medalists from the International Photographic Competition during the Grand Imaging Awards. This year, PPA awarded 86 bronze, 132 silver, 113 gold, 65 platinum, and 36 diamond medals. 

The night concluded with a presentation of the images selected for Team USA at the World Photographic Cup, the “Olympics of Photography.” The competition includes 32 countries that will compete later this year in Singapore on March 17, 2023. Ben Shirk was given the honor of “Best of Nation” for the United States. 

PPA provides opportunities for photographers to compete and receive recognition for their work. Details of the new International Photographic Competition will go live in February. You can expect a much larger competition featuring prizes, medals, and the chance to compete for the Grand Imaging Award. Tune in to PPA’s Live Facebook announcement, on February 21 for more details. 


Congratulations to PPA’s New Degree Recipients & Award Winners

On behalf of PPA, we’d like to recognize the hard work and dedication of the 204 individuals who earned their PPA degree(s) this year. We applaud you on this milestone and thank you for your unwavering service to the photographic industry. PPA also recognized the following individuals for their outstanding contributions to the organization and industry as a whole: 

Carl Caylor – PPA Jurors Meritorious Service Award 
Erich Caparas – PPA International Service Award 
Gregory Daniel and Lesa Daniel – PPA Education Award
Deanna Duncan – PPA Humanitarian Award
Clark Marten and Rachel Marten – PPA Business Education Award
Alison Miniter – PPA Volunteer of the Year Award
Richard Sturdevant – PPA Vanguard Award
Michael Mowbray – PPA Technology Impact Award
Ralph Romaguera – Director’s Award
Eric Meola – Lifetime Achievement Award and Honorary Master of Photography degree


We offer our heartfelt congratulations and thanks to this year’s incredible lineup of individuals!